The party is over

Back in Scotland tonight and I must admit there was more than a sense of relief to get off the train in Edinburgh.
 
No more hassle, crowds, security, armed police, sniffer dogs and – dare I say it? – being ripped off in Wales especially during the Hay Festival.
 
Accommodation is at a premium because the event takes place in the middle of a field near the quaint Welsh Border town of Hay. So the locals can, and do, charge extortionate sums of money for some basic to average accommodation.
 
As this is near my hometown- Crickhowell- I feel short-changed to say the least.
 
When a room is described as luxury -  £145 a night- you expect to be able to be able to stand up in it – see extra photo.
 
And it claims to sleep 4 people! We had to take it in turns to move around. And I wont even begin to mention the broken equipment, or that the bathroom was across a corridor.
 
This was booked in February and any cancellation would have meant forfeiting all our money.
 
I regret to say it but Wales during the Hay Festival does not have a good reputation for providing value for money.
 
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.