Half Fluff Half Feathers

I walked around Seventy Acres Lake at Fishers Green this afternoon. It was very windy and kept trying to rain. I enjoyed it nevertheless. I haven't been for a while and it was lovely to see and and hear the swifts, to see the terns and hear all the warblers. (I photographed my first garden warbler at home this morning.)

I spent quite a bit of time with a family of greylag geese. They climbed out of the lake to greet me, probably hoping for food. The goslings were so comical, half fluff and half feathers, chomping on comfrey.

Today's poem is In the Desert III by Stephen Crane. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/46457

Weird. :) SC did spend a lot of his short life partying wildly. In the poem SC shows that human nature is inherently sinful and corrupt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.