D-Day B-Day

MrQ has been remembering D-Day. He says the weather in 1944 was poor, very dull, not unlike today's. Terrible to think of those young men, the same age as our grandson, bravely storming the beaches of Normandy through relentless fire and at tremendous loss to liberate Europe and preserve democracy. 

It poured with rain all morning but I didn't mind as I had admin to catch up with. The rain stopped after lunch and Jazzy and I went in search of droplet bugs. It was amazing how quickly things dried up, helped by the blustery wind. I was sort of disappointed about the lack of bugs bedecked with raindrops. 

I read in the paper this morning that scientists are asking the public to report to them sightings of certain solitary bees. There are so many, all shapes, sizes and colours. I'm afraid I haven't identified this dear little one that I found on a bramble in our disused car park.

PS I'm not sure but I think my bee could be a male tawny mining bee, which is one of the four on the Solitary Bee Project list. The others are ashy mining bee, yellow-legged furrow bee and ivy bee. 

Today's poem is After Love by Maxine Kumin. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/54772

I read this as after an act of love. I get it. I like the yawning bedding and the sound of the plane 'coming down'. Not sure about the 'mongering wolf'. Made me think of MrQ's i-ron-mong-ger story in which someone, maybe from The Windrush, asked his mother where he could find such a place. She was baffled.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.