Freezing Sunrise

I went out at 7.30 this morning to watch the sun rise.  It was -2C!  It was spectacular, so I took lots of photos.  (Extras.)  Home for breakfast, then off to morning tea with my church friends.  Home for lunch, then I walked into town to get my required number of steps in for the day, which is 8.000.  I made it, but just!!  (8,080).

Blip No 1925

Year 1925 was disastrous for my family, as my Grandfather died of a Heart Attack, aged 49., leaving behind a family of 5 children, a wife and mother.  A black arm band was worn by mourning families for 3 months after the death of a family member.  The local farming community rallied around to help the young widow and her family.

Vehicle registration plates were introduced.

Ernest Rutherford appointed to the Order of Merit.

Famous NZers born in 1925.

Eva Rickard, Maori leader and activist  :  Tiny White, rugby union player  :  Eric Watson, Cricketer  :  Ian Ballinger, sports shooter  :  Ian Cross, novelist, journalist, broadcasting and arts administrator  :  Bill Subritzky, property developer and Evangelist.  I heard him speak on many occasions.

Famous people born in 1925

Dick Van Dyke (91), TV and Movie Actor  :  Margaret Thatcher, British P.M. :  Angela Lansbury, (91), TV Actress  :  Rock Hudson, Movie Actor  :  Sammy Davis Jnr, Pop Singer  :  Robert F Kennedy, Politician  :  Paul Newman, Movie Actor  :  Barbara Bush, Political Wife (91)  :  Tony Curtis, Movie Actor  :  Jack Lemmon, Movie Actor  :  Richard Burton, Movie Actor  :  Peter Sellers, Movie Actor   :  Laura Ashley, Fashion Designer.

I have the fire going, so will settle in for the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.