The Wren

By TheWren

shades of autumn

As the sun was shining today, albeit intermittently, I decided to go back down to the river for a good long walk. I needed my fleece but the air was pleasantly fresh. Cara and Bruce both enjoyed swimming and were fascinated by a couple of fishermen as they cast their lines into the water.

These leaves are from the same horse chestnut tree of Wednesday's blip and I thought they deserved a closer look. The grey in the background is in fact the river, not the sky, and I loved the way the leaves sparkled in the sunshine showing off all their glorious autumnal colours.

I'm seriously concentrating on storage for my veggies before I go away and this afternoon turned courgettes into a fruit veggie loaf and a crop of tomatoes into a feast of roasted tomatoes and garlic. Both are destined for the freezer although I will be tempted tomorrow to have a taste of the loaf. Who knows I may even blip it depending on how it looks! Potatoes, garlic and red onions are safely stored in the shed.

A large and noisy skein of geese passed over my head while I was outside this afternoon so they are definitely gathering for the long haul back to their winter quarters.

Hope you have a good week -end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.