a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Carnation

Tiny Tuesday: Flora

What a wet and blustery day today has been.  I think that May lulled us into a false sense of security that Summer had arrive, but now here we are back to weather that seems frankly, Autumnal.  (No political comment intended there, by the way).

I have taken notice of JDO's rather brilliant flower shots recently taken, where she has used a lightpad.  I very much admired these and quite wanted to have a go.  But as I don't have a lightpad, I had a look to see if there was anything one could do with an iPad as a substitute.  

The answer seems to be that whilst there are apps that will cause the iPad to emulate a softbox, the iPad just does not throw out enough light to really do what is needed.

Still it has been an interesting exploration into what is possible with the lighting that is already lying around the house with an iPad and a LED bicycle torch (I kid you not).  I do like the ability to adjust the lighting on the fly that you get with lighting of this sort. Flash is great but I generally spend some time firing test shots until I manage to hit upon the right combination and the approach is a bit clunky.  Its fine for still life but doesn't work well if you are trying to take photos of insects.   

Obviously what I would like to do is to race out and spend a fortune on adjustable LED lighting solutions - but it does seem more than a little profligate .....    :-)


Many thanks to isbi who is in charge of the Tiny Tuesday challenge this month and has set the challenge topic of Flora for us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.