Having a Whale of a time!

Back Blip.

Today was day 6 of our great Vancouver to Alaska Cruise. Its also the first day we docked and had a chance to find solid ground!

We started off with a Posh breakfast in the resturant. There was a cereal named after me called 'Fruit Loops'! But I really enjoyed the waffles - again!

We spent the afternoon on the rear 'dick' enjoying cocktails in the sunshine. The waiters had Mr W's measure and just kept making him their 'Specials'!! I was a little worried he might not make the entertainment planned for the afternoon!!

We docked at Icey Strait Point. A picturesque little fishing village that just happened to have the biggest zipline in the world. There were 6 wires, 5400' high, which accelerates you to 60mph! And yes, I did it! 

Shirely and Steve went off on a whale watching tour, but Freddie appeared right under our balcony. His blow hole made me jump right out my skin!!! But he was absolutley amazing. I have never been so close to a whale in their natural habitat before. Breathtaking. Then another group appeared, blowing and chatting to each other.

Then it was time for the zipline. The view back down to the ship was stunning but I did spend most of my time screaming. Even a little swear word popped out!

After a little mooch around the local shops, we headed back to the ship where we all sat on our balcony and watched the sun go down, with more whales in the distance. The sea was calm, the sky was pink and it felt like we were in another world. 

Simply awesome. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.