FIRST HOME

Morrisons as usual this morning.  As its my birthday today I was given a voucher at the till entitling me to a free bunch of flowers.  I chose a nice bunch of tulips.

Back home to unpack the shopping and have breakfast.  Watched TV for a bit.  Early this morning I had received a message from Becky saying she would phone me during her lunch hour. However she got in touch again saying that she had got on the wrong train ( they had changed the platform ) so she was late for work and had to work through her lunch hour.  So she said she would phone at 6pm.

So I decided to go out in the meantime.  I got the bus to Lobley Hill.  As its my birthday I decided to blip my very first home.  I lived in this block of flats from birth until I was around 6 years old. Its changed a bit since I lived there.  Back in the 1950's the roof was flat.  The large windows are new.  When I lived there the flats had balconies where these windows are.

We lived in the flat on the top floor on the right.  My little brother was born there - a home birth which I do remember happening. It wasn't the best place to live with two small children.  Flights of stairs with no lift.  The balcony  - which was a temptation with little ones who might try and climb over the barrier - or throw toys off. 

I have a lot of happy memories of living here. Behind the flats was a railway line - the trains carried coal from the mines to the coke works which were nearby. I loved watching the trains and waving to the drivers. There used to be a gang of kids - older ones and young ones like me  - and we used to go off for hours on end by ourselves.  The older ones looking out for the little ones.   There was no A1 in those days and you could walk across fields and get to Teams and Dunston.  Quite a walk for little legs. So much freedom and we were never afraid of anything. Happy days.

After taking my blip shot I walked down to the bottom of the hill where there is a great view of The Angel of The North - which obviously wasn't there back in the 50's.  I have put a shot in my Extras.  On the right of the photo you can see the A1 as it passes near The Angel. 

Then I got the bus to Gateshead where I did some shopping.

Back home in time for Becky's phone call at 6pm.  We spoke for about an hour.  She was on the train going home from work.  She was cut off about 5 or 6 times due to going through tunnels. Lovely to hear from her and exchange news.

The weather today has been quite nice - bright and sunny but with a very strong wind.

Steps today - 9,497

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.