BIRTHDAY TREATS

Its my birthday today.  When the post came this morning there were 2 birthday cards included.  One was from a blip friend  - she also sent me a gift.  A nice surprise. 

The other birthday card was even more of a surprise.  You may remember a few weeks ago I mentioned meeting one of my old teachers in the village.  She taught me cookery and I hadn't spoken to her since 1969ish.  We had a long chat that day and exchanged tel numbers and addresses. Heard nothing from her since that day and then this morning a birthday card arrived.  I was puzzled as to how she knew it was my birthday.  Anyway I rang her number straight away to thank her for the card - and ask her how she knew today was my birthday.  Apparently when we spoke that day she had said her birthday was 6th June and I said mine was 7th June - and she remembered.  How strange.  She did say she had a very good memory - well thats right for sure.  We talked on the phone for over an hour.  She's a very nice lady.  We have determined to try and get together for coffee - whenever we are free at the same time.

The flowers and balloon arrived later this morning - from Becky.  This is the first time I have ever had a birthday balloon. The flowers are Hawaiian and they are called Plumeria.

I had a voucher for free coffee and cake in John Lewis and decided today was a good day to have that treat.  So off I went to Newcastle.  I was sidetracked by the Sale  which was on in Debenhams and came out of there with a half price Jasper Conran handbag.  Typical.  Then to John Lewis.  There was a long queue but plenty of seats free as its a large cafe.  I chose carrot cake and cappuccino.  The cake is in my collage.  It was delicious.

You can also see in my collage a Krispy Kreme Doughnut - Salted Caramel Cheesecake flavour.  I had a voucher from them for a free birthday doughnut so I picked this one from their stall in Eldon Square before coming home.

So plenty of treats today.  And this evening Becky phoned and we had a nice catch up. And I'm going out for a meal tomorrow with Neil as he has the day off then. 

The weather today has been lovely - warm and sunny. 

Steps today - 8,259

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.