bird's eye view

Hard choice deciding on one photo for today! If you'd like to see more, look here :-)

If I had to give my top tips about the best way to explore a new city, here they are:

1) get up as high as you can on the first day, to see the lie of the land. This photo was taken from 203m, from the observatory deck of the Fernsehturm (TV tower - you can see its shadow). I've been up a lot of tall buildings in my life and enjoyed the view from every one of them.

2) get a public transport pass, and go as far as you can on it. The best sights aren't always in the middle of town.

3) walk as much as possible (I've done over 27,000 steps today, even after going on trains). It's the best way to see life on the street.

4) Don't stick to the guidebook/tourist recommendations. Yesterday in the Marienkirche, I saw a small sign for a free organ recital today. It was amazing... I now know quite a lot about the workings of a baroque organ!

5) Don't waste time in queues. Book ahead online instead if you can. Or if a place is too busy, go somewhere else instead.

6) find some nice green spaces to relax in after all the sights. and...breathe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.