Damselfly Poll

Another very windy, dull and damp day. Rubbish for shooting macro but I went ahead anyway. I decided to photograph the heads of bugs for 30 Days Wild on polling day as poll is a word for head. It was quite a challenge as my subjects were being tossed about violently in the gusts. The quality of my image above is quite poor but I like the way the damselfly, which seems to have a bit of eye damage, looks surprised to see the photobombing midge. I've added a vapourer moth caterpillar to extras.  

The Wildlife Trusts suggested photographing wildlife at the polling station. I searched for something to capture in vain. I was also disappointed as there wasn't a subject for #dogsatpollingstations. :( 

Today's poem is Carrion Comfort by Gerard Manley Hopkins. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/44392

GMH was a nature lover, I love his Pied Beauty and Windhover. It is thought that he was bipolar and he wrote Carrion Comfort when he was living and working  in Dublin. Being in the city away from the countryside didn't suit him. I found this poem difficult and have researched it. Carrion comfort is despair. He won't give up, wallow in despair and kill himself. He asks why the despair is crushing him but he's a survivor and grows stronger and more joyful. He doesn't know who to thank, himself or God. He has been tested by God and passed.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.