Derelict Pile

Spain is full of neglected and derelict buildings - at least, there are where I spend a lot of time.  I see them along the roads and always want to stop and look more closely.  It's not always practical with nowhere to pull off safely.

This afternoon I went in pursuit of one ruin I have been eyeing up over the past week. I found a place to stop - a lane running up past a field of lemon trees - and turned in.  Driving a little way up to park, I was amazed to see another ruin, even better than the one I had stopped to photograph.  It must once have been a very grand house with a large balcony at the front, outbuildings and a good sized swimming pool too.  

The blip shows one of the walls of a former out-building with the rest of it scattered round about.  I have added the house itself as an extra.  It would be interesting to return to this site on another visit when the sky is not bright blue and cloudless - a bit of a stormy scape would make it more fun.  That will have to wait for another trip, as tomorrow evening we leave for home and the day is forecast to be another blue sky day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.