Finds

A better day, dry and sunny, so after voting I spent the afternoon in the veg garden along where we keep the hens.  I am amazed at how well the Jerusalem artichokes have stood up to the wind, but it is pretty sheltered by trees round about, unlike our garden at home.  All the rain has meant a terrific crop of weeds, which the hens enjoyed, and the nettles are huge, so they went on the compost heap.  

Planted out more brassica seedlings, mostly cabbage, which always come in handy for the hens, even if they don't do very well.  Might as well use the soil as have it standing empty for the weeds to invade!  

While earthing up the tatties again I came across two more pieces of blue and white pottery to add to my collection.  In the past all the household rubbish was either put on the midden and then spread on the land, or thrown over the shore, so I'm always finding bits and pieces whether I'm in the garden or on the beach!  The pieces with the smooth, rounded edges are beach finds, the rough edged bits are garden ones.  I have vast quantities of them and keep thinking I should do something crafty with them.  Perhaps one day . . . !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.