Ingredients

The forecast was for rain today so late last night I booked to do a Thai cooking course. It was on the other side of the island so I hired a motorbike to get there, hoping it wouldn’t rain too much. It was actually dry for most of the day. The course was good. There were five of us, and the others were great fun. It was different to the Vietnamese cooking course I did in December when each person made a different dish, this time we each made our own portion of all four of the dishes (and then ate them). We also had a taste of each others dishes – they were all a bit different, mainly due to adding different amounts of spice.

This is the starting point for Penang Curry. It was delicious! We also made Tom Ka Soup, Laab and Mango Sticky Rice. All very good. The course finished by 4pm and I decided to drive a bit further down the eastern part of Koh Lanta. I got as far as the road went and then turned back and found a small cafe with a good view. I ordered a tea and it started pouring rain. So I stayed. When the worst of the rain stopped I drove back. I got a bit wet but my plastic bag raincoat was quite effective.


In the evening there was a Thai band playing in the bar of where I was staying. They were very good guitarists. They played mostly rock ballads with some indie songs and a lot of the Beatles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.