Drama Queen

Dear Diary,

I have always been an introvert but one thing I loved was the theater.  I was in four high school productions.  Only three  are shown here because our year book went to press before the last one.  Later, when I was in college, I took drama classes which I felt would helped me as a teacher.  I was co-director of the drama program in the first high school I taught in.  It might seem strange that an introvert would be attracted to the bright lights and the stage but I think it was the creativity of it all, the pure fantasy, that drew me in.

I also think it is good to do things that you find hard to do.  High school for me was a time to try out things and I was very lucky to have very encouraging teachers.  The future seemed boundless and anything was possible.  As we age we begin to see the limitations close in and that can be stifling. 

Today I am off to a workshop at the Shaker Village to learn about using natural materials to print on fabric.  I may not have made it to Broadway but what I did keep from those days is the joy of creating in many different ways.  It has never left me and I pray it never will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.