AT THE SAGE

Had a ticket for a performance at The Sage this afternoon.  " Mr Corvan's Music Hall".  Ned Corvan (1827 - 1865 ) was a comedian, violinist and a singer/songwriter.  He was the North East's first professional singer/songwriter and his songs appealed to working class people. He wrote 120 songs including " The Cullercoats Fish Lass". The production had a cast of two.  One actor played the older Ned and the other his younger self - and the two interacted with each other.  Also on stage was violinist Rachael McShane of the folk group Bellowhead. The play was excellent - I really enjoyed it.  I think it would have been hard to follow if you had no experience of the Geordie accent.

My blip shot shows the poster which was outside The Sage and a shot of the empty stage.

It rained all morning and it was still raining as I went into The Sage.  However when I came out around 4.30pm the weather was lovely - sunny and warm.  So I walked across to the Newcastle side of the river and went into the centre of town.

I headed for Patisserie Valerie ( posh cake shop ) as I had a voucher for a free cupcake.  They sent me it for my birthday.  I chose a strawberry one.  I'm saving it for tomorrow and I will count it as my syns for the day. 

Steps today - 8,332

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.