Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

# 35

I bid farewell to Mr & Mrs Sefferdog and their four cats this morning, with many thanks for their warm hospitality.  Flight home was uneventful and Hubs to greet me on the other end.

Speaking of Hubs, he did a most excellent job of keeping the Bistro and Nursery going while I was away.  All birds are happy and healthy and well fed and the swallowtail butterfly caterpillar looks to be in its second instar now. Well done, dear.

I went out to check on House Wren Nest 2 (the one that the bear didn't get) and Mama, seen here, gave me a good scolding.  She chattered angrilly at me while I did a quick check of the box.  Nestlings look healthy, from the brief glimpse I could see.  This is my 35th yard bird to be blipped.  I actually blipped them last week, but given that it was a such grim news, I decided not to tag it for my Yardbird 2017 project.  The second female wren and the polygamous Mister seem to have quickly constructed a new nest at the edge of the woods.  I'll check it for eggs tomorrow.

Meanwhile, the bluebird babies fledged yesterday and this afternoon when I arrived home they were in the front yard.  In the same box that the wrens lost their nest in, there is a good start on a bluebird nest.  I assume it's the same pair who just fledged the first brood.  They were so late with their first nest that I expect they are in a hurry to start # 2.  Now my dilemma will be how to protect this nest from the bear.  Maybe an electric wire fence around it...

I I spent time at the airport this morning doing an in-camera delete of a bunch of photos from the trip - so I now have "only" about 450 photos to go through.  Yay, me.

Thank you so very much for all the hearts and stars during these past few days in Florida.  I'll try to get caught up this week...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.