JVM my life

By JulieVMac

Polperro

We promised to take Nan and Granddad to Polperro and Looe today, they hadn't visited for some 50 years when my mum was a mere teenager. The sun was shining, a good day for a trip out. I last visited when I was a small child.

As Polperro is a small fishing village, it is not car friendly, so we parked at the top of the village and took the tram down. They are both still good on their feet - not bad for 85 year olds - but I don't like to make them walk too far. Polperro is beautiful, full of windy streets which lead down to the main harbor, everything feels so cramped but only because of what we are now used to. A brisk lunch followed by a walk to small beach and then back up to the car.

Next stop Looe! Looe seemed so busy I vaguely could remember the harbor and crab fishing but now the place is full of cars, not liked it used to be according to my Nan, although she could still remember where they stayed when they came on holiday, what a memory! Drove back to Mullion via our cottage (with cream teas served in the garden), for end of the day kayaking. The conditions were great, surf but not too much for the novice, managed to catch some good waves without coming out the boat, success! Another great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.