Memories of Umbria

While we were on holiday I spent a few mornings sketching at breakfast time.  Some of the sketches were about pattern and shape while my final one was a more detailed drawing.  (See extra).  I'm not interested in photo-realism in my artwork - I can take photos that satisfy that need, so with printmaking in mind I'm  often looking to explore pattern and shape - well unless I'm trying out a new technique when I might be drawn to using one of my photographic images.  Today has really been the first opportunity I've had since we returned from holiday to do a bit more drawing and even then I needed to finish setting up my easel (which tends to collapse on me unless I take a hammer to the brass screw) and to clean up my large boards which were going a bit mouldy out in the shed.  

So today I've been creating A1 images based on one of my abstract shape drawings.  I like parts of both of them and will probable redraw.  The black & white image would be the easiest to create as a print, but I would like some colour.  So ... which technique do I choose.  Collograph would work, as would screen printing if I was determined to work out the colour separation.  I think I might sit on these a while as I think there might be further versions that develop from these.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.