I haven't done any hill walking for weeks, in fact since April, and not very much walking on the flat either as climbing and work seem to have got in the way.  But it's not long now until my walking holiday in the French Alps and I'm a bit worried about my fitness.  I need to climb some hills. 

So to save me having to drive into the Peak District I went in search of a steep street locally and on a friend's recommendation I walked up and down a back road in Aston-on-Trent a couple of times. But after 1.7 miles I'd only climbed 198 metres - see extra for the walk profile.  Then I tried a street in the other direction, which was shorter and steeper... with a bonus of trainers hanging over the wire. 

But it's ridiculous, I'm going to have to look at some contour lines and drive a bit further.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.