Attending a "Supremes" gig

It's been quite well publicised this week that the Supreme Court is sitting in Edinburgh, giving visible sustenance to the argument that it is a genuinely UK-wide institution, and not a creature of London only. The sitting in Edinburgh will hopefully be followed by ones in Belfast and Cardiff, not to mention northern England.

I had the opportunity to go along to a reception in the Playfair Library and, contrary to what one might have expected for a "Supremes gig", all there was were a butch of blokes making making speeches. So disappointing :-( But just to prove that they are "so twenty-first century", it was interesting to discover yesterday that the Supremes have launched their own instagram account.

Anyway, it was nice to have a chat with a couple of the Justices, including the one visible in the thumbnail and presented here. Shame I caught Lord Mance blowing his nose. I never got the chance to ask him whether the Henry Mance who works for the FT is his son. I've wondered whether that's the case a few times recently. And good to catch up with my School colleagues, many of whom I see far too infrequently.

I was weary by the time I got home, and full of aches and pains. If I'm ever not quite 100% these days, it doesn't half make my joints ache, especially the as-yet-unoperated arthritic right knee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.