Besties <3 <3

It was quite warm here in the early part of this week, with temperatures approaching 90 degrees F on several days. I tend to be a chill-weather girl, and I love winter. I'd rather have nine 10-degree days than a single 90-degree one! When the temps get above about 80, I start to wilt. Sorry, but that's just how I'm made!

On this morning, it was a bit cooler out, and I made a stop at Bernel Road Park for a quick look around. I had a photo shoot planned, one involving me doing upside-down selfies while hanging from the rungs inside the little "rocket ship" I photographed there twice before. (I imagined some sort of combo of my prior "Major Tom to Ground Control" and "Look Up to the Sky" blips.)

But it turns out I was too chicken, or too confused, or too wimpy, or too something, to actually go through with it. I think I was afraid I'd get dizzy, or pull my shoulder out, or fall on my head, or drop the camera. In the end, I gave up, and simply walked around a bit instead.

So I followed some lovely, green, winding pathways through assorted benches in the park, and enjoyed the round hay bales I found in a meadow there. I was delighted to come around a corner in the path and discover a group of three horses standing together on a hill, eating the tasty grass.

The one horse - the one on the left in this shot - kept motioning off to the side, and raising its head, and whinnying into the distance. I suddenly understood what was going on when another horse entered the frame. The two horses approached each other gleefully, touched noses, and then stood for a few seconds just as you see above.

They were clearly very good friends, and they (and yet another horse who joined the crew after this) strolled around the pasture mere INCHES apart, eating their morning snacks together, occasionally touching each other, sometimes even nomming on the same clump of grass.

They were very affectionate with each other - apparently horses have besties, too! - and the sight made me smile. So here is the day's picture, an homage to the friendship of two horses in a green, Pennsylvania field on a summer's morning.

The soundtrack is a song I know I've used before, but let's indulge me: Andrew Gold, Thank You for Being a Friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.