Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Good News Story!

I was dismayed to see this beautiful New Holland Honeyeater sitting on the ground outside the living room today.   The dear little bird had obviously stunned itself when it flew into the window.  It wasn't a bit worried when I gently picked it up and stroked it, in fact it didn't want to let go of my finger at all.  I was happy that it felt safe.  I called out to CCN to bring me out a small towel and we sat it on the table outside in the sun.  We had to keep moving the towel to follow the last rays of the sun make sure it was as warm as could be in the late afternoon.

CCN and I decided that the best thing we could do was to leave it there with some water and let nature take its course.  We felt if we put it in a cardboard box and brought it inside it might freak out and it seemed quite content with its new nest.

I ventured out a few times and it was sitting there in the dark, my heart was melting and its quite distressing not knowing what else we could do.  

Well I'm happy to say, there is a good ending to the story.  At about 8.00 o'clock I ventured out once more and hallelujah it had flown the nest.  Woohoo!!  This often happens we find - if we just leave them quietly to recover from the shock of hitting the window.

Tiny Tuesday Mystery Object:  Well many of you got really, really close.  The object was in fact a metal tea strainer, albeit one that hasn't been used every day as I spotted a bit of dust when I viewed the macro image :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.