COFFEE AND CHAT WITH CAROLINE

I know it’s Flower Friday, but as I haven’t seen my friend, Caroline, for sometime, I decided it would be better to Blip her instead of one of my roses - not that she thought the same, but it’s good to change things occasionally and of course, the challenges aren’t set in stone.

We decided we would go to Bardolino’s, formerly The Old Bank, to have coffee this morning and have a jolly good catch-up, which we did - and it was good to see her.  Apparently, Bardolino is named after the northern Italian area where Marco’s mother, Maria-Rosa, was born. 

I originally took a photograph of Marco Pierre White’s chair - and if you look just above, you will see a print of him sitting in one very similar, but then I thought it would be better to have Caroline in the photograph as well - in the end, she agreed - or at least I think she did!

She looks fine to me and as I told her, it’s not every day you get to have your photograph taken with Marco Pierre White!  If you’re interested, you can see more about him here.

I always enjoy my time with Caroline;  we chatted about many things, but had a long discussion about correct grammar, something about which we both feel very strongly, so I had better make sure that it’s all correct in today’s journal - but please, if you find any mistakes, don’t tell me.  I would add that I do know the difference between “there” and “their”, “your” and “you’re” and “its” and “it’s”!  And what’s more (I know you shouldn’t start a sentence with “And”) I know I overuse exclamation marks, but that’s my style!!

I found this quote and thought it was particularly apt for those of us living in the UK at the moment!

“His sentences didn't seem to have any verbs, 
     which was par for a politician. 
All nouns, no action. ” 
Jennifer Crusie : Charlie All Night

As it’s Friday, have another good quote from a former British Prime Minister:

“This is just the sort of nonsense up with which I will not put.” 
Winston S. Churchill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.