SILLY SATURDAY - I WASN'T EGGSPECTING THIS!

Mrs. Whisker reporting again.  You might remember that I was looking rather miserable earlier in the week but something wonderful and uneggspected has happened within the Honeycombebeach household.

You may have heard of the programme on television called Long Lost Family, where two presenters try to reunite family members after years of separation.

For a long time, I have been looking for long-lost members of my family, and surprise, surprise, using their eggspertise, the presenters discovered them lurking in the bottom drawer of the unit in Mrs. HCB’s kitchen.

Because I was on my own in the messy kitchen drawer, I used to feel eggstremely lonely, so whenever I was brought out and used to whisk eggs, I used to wonder if there were any other family members around.

Lynn, the very kind next door neighbour of Mr. and Mrs. HCB, bought them some cheap eggs (no pun intended!) when she went to Morrisons earlier in the week - she's a "dab hand" at getting bargains - so Mrs. HCB asked Mr. HCB if he would like boiled eggs for breakfast.  Of course, he could have had scrambled eggs and I would have come in very useful, but Mr. HCB said he wanted boiled eggs and “soldiers” - a strange custom that is practised in England, where you boil the egg, cut off the top and then dip thin slices of bread, known as “soldiers” into the yolk, which most people like to be runny, but Mr. HCB likes his yolks hard.   

Of course, you do need to have little cups in which to put the boiled eggs and I was as surprised as Mrs. HCB when these were found by rummaging in the bottom drawer.  We had been apart for so long that I had almost forgotten about these eggcentric relatives - but we have now been reunited and we are all very happy - as you can see by the smiles on our faces.  It will be eggcellent getting to know each other in the coming months.

In the photograph you can see the daddy, Edgar Egg, with black hair and next to him is the mummy, Eleanor Egg, who looks very eggciting with her orange hair - I think she would have preferred it yolk-coloured, as that looks rather bright to me.  I am in the middle with Emily Egg next to me.  You will see that Emily went a bit mad with the hair dye as it looks rather red, but she has assured her mum that it will soon fade.  Next to her with his hair all over the place is little Edward Egg. You can see his face is rather mucky - I think he has been eating too many Cadbury’s Creme Eggs!

Mr. HCB enjoyed his boiled eggs with hard yolks so was very happy, and I was delighted too, because Mrs. HCB decided that she would scramble some eggs for herself.  I have to say that she is a “dab hand” at scrambling. She tells me the secret is to whisk them gently, and not to overheat the eggs, but to have the heat very low and keep stirring.  Of course, she did mention to Mr. HCB that they would have tasted even better had she had some smoked salmon to go with them - but he just raised his eyebrows.  She was obviously eggspecting a miracle - perhaps her neighbour could look for some cheap smoked salmon next time!

So what of the future?  Well, I think we will be eggsessively happy living together in the bottom drawer - there is so much more room there and it isn’t as messy as the second drawer down so as long as the rent is not eggsorbitant, we should be fine.  It remains to be seen whether there are other eggstraordinary family members lurking anywhere else.  You’ll have to watch this space!

Goodbye for now and remember, you can’t unscramble scrambled eggs!

I hope you all have an eggstremely wonderful and eggciting weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.