Canoe & Camp at Decoy Broad

Work was ok. It's always ok on a Friday. I met Mollie briefly at lunchtime to collect her bag of shopping. She has gone with friends to see Take That tonight at Carrow Road.

Meanwhile, I have joined Henry and Jon at their Sea Scout meeting. Through the summer, they spend alternate meetings at Decoy Broad, some way past Wroxham, and somewhere that has water. It is beautiful, but this weekend unusually busy. We only stay overnight. The scouts will be collected in the morning, but it is an opportunity for camp, canoe and son outdoor cooking.

So we threw a few bits in the car, and drove from home, via Cromer (where I left my car for Mollie to collect tonight). It took an hour, but through some beautiful villages we haven't discovered yet. In particular a lovely pub just up the road which is attached to the Woodfordes Brewery.

All the scouts, leaders and me, dumped our stuff, put on buoyancy aids and carried the canoes from the shed to the ramp. There they divided themselves between canoes (Jon in the last one) and kayaks (Henry at the very back on his own) and headed out onto the broad.

There are others here canoeing too, but it is beautiful. Midgy, but so calm and the weather is perfect. They didn't persuade we to get in a canoe, but now they are all out there, and it seems so safe, perhaps I can be persuaded next time. (I am blipping from the side of the water as they paddle out beyond view!)

When it gets dark, I expect they will be back onshore in time to put up the tents! Not sure how my hay fever is going to be tonight, but hopeful the loratedine I started to take yesterday will give me some relief.

It is a very long time since I slept in a tent. I'm quite looking forward to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.