A visit to Cambridge

Up early. I missed my lie in today, but with a 2 hour drive to Cambridge to spend the day with these lovely ladies it was a necessity. I left at 8.15 and got to my first stop, Wandlebury at 10.15. There I delivered a copy of my book to Bill and Wendy Clark. They had both read it through for me when it was a mere pile of A4 sheets of paper. Yes it felt weird going back, still anger began to bubble up when I saw the signs advertising the bushcraft, den making etc with the ranger...But I left quickly and tried not to dwell on the unfairness of it all, and the 'what might have beens'.

A protracted drive to Hilton avoiding closed roads etc I found my destination at about 11.15 and there I spent the day at Karen's stunning home catching up with old Shire Hall friends. Sadly, one of our group had a far worse journey than me and sat on the A1 for hours until her car overheated. We missed you Karen and have decided that next time we will come to you!

Karen had made a beautiful lunch of spinach lasagne, a mango and something vegetable curryish dish (sorry Karen I wasn't paying attention) but all was delicious. Then puddings too, homemade pavlova and key lime pie. We were spoilt for choice and had a bit of everything.

I signed my first book!!! Joanne had brought hers with her! It was quite funny!

I left at 6.30, dropped in on The Harvey's in Girton to deliver a couple of things, then gave them a lift in to town. Only had a 10 minute wait for Daniel's bus to arrive, then gathered his stuff and after a brief McDonald's stop drove home as fast as I was allowed, arriving at exactly 10.

I thinking I've been driving for longer than I haven't been driving today. Tomorrow is going to be worse as we have a 3 and a half to 4 hour drive to Woking. Jon and Henry are expected back very early tomorrow.

Now it's bed for us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.