The sundial on Witcombe church

I dropped Helena at her school fete this morning where she was running a stall and then drove to a garden centre on the road to Cheltenham. I bought more plants and special composts than I can afford but they will be worth it in the end.  I even bought a few flowers as well as vegetable seedlings to add a bit of colour to the garden.

On the way home i decided to drive up the farm track to Witcombe Roman Villa, an English Heritage ruin, which I have been meaning to see for years. I met a man on a long walk who gave me some good information about the land nearby and how to get to several different sites which looked interesting on the steep escarpment just below Crickley Hill Iron Age camp.

The villa was set in a delightful quiet spot with a spring emerging from the hillside just above it, an important prerequisite for them to provided drinking water as well as their famous baths. I didn't stay long as I intend to return with Helena when we have more time.

On the way home I diverted up another lane to the small village church at Witcombe hamlet and was pleased to see this old sundial on the side of the tower. There seems to be a difference between the church clock time and the sundial notwithstanding British Summer Time. I'll return here as well.  It is a classic gorgeous sunny summer's day and very warm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.