Skylark singing whilst descending

I'd hoped to get up early enough to do some planting before I taking Helena to another local car show where she could run her stall. But it has been so hot and humid I couldn't face it.

Instead i drove up t minchinhampton Common to check on the skylarks only to find they had disappeared.  Last time I went there there were lots of pairs ready to breed, displaying and singing profusely. Today I heard just one song and at least managed to spot it high in the air and walked quickly across the grassland towards it.

I managed to focus on it just before it began its descent, whilst still singing. But it accelerated its descent as it got closer to the ground and I lost focus. So here is a heavily cropped shot of it singing away during its drop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.