Arnside

I had lunch today with my friend Rosie at the Heron Café in Arnside. Despite the menu being interesting and varied, in the end I couldn't help myself and went for a simple poached eggs and toast, which, in my opinion, takes some beating when done well. And, on this occasion, it was. 

After lunch, I wandered out onto the sands to take this photo and, as I was walking through the informal 'on the beach' car park, I heard someone calling my name, which turned out to be my friend (and former boss) Claire, who was sat in her car eating fish and chips with her partner (and my former client), Ian.

It caught me by surprise, of course, but it was lovely to see them. Just after my first divorce*, I rented a house in Beetham, which is just up the road from a place called Hale. There's a pub there called the King's Arms, which is one of those rural pubs that sits mostly empty until nine o'clock and then fills up with locals. It's Claire and Ian's local and during that period, they were enormously kind to me. Hence, I still hold a great deal of affection for them both and it made me think that I'm long overdue for a visit back to the pub.

*Never an adjective/noun combo that reflects well on anyone. 

****
Forgot to weigh in
Forgot to write anything

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.