Brian's Garden Journal

By brianfuller75

Garden Journal 18.6.2017

I have spent a lot of time this week sitting by the pond, in the shade, watching the wildlife. I have seen the bank vole and the water shrew every day, plus a good variety of birds. That's the good news. The bad news is that getting photos has been very difficult. The water shrew is so fast, and pops up everywhere. Everywhere except where my camera is pointing. I have got a few partial or blurry shots but nothing worth publishing. I will persevere.

I have seen a Buzzard circling overhead, a Sparrowhawk diving through the trees, and a brief view of a Tawny Owl. Did I get pictures?....No!

The young Blue Tits, Great Tits, and Robin are there on a regular basis,  as are the Dunnocks

The feeding station at the front of the house has also been quite busy, but has been dominated by Goldfinches. Some of the photos of them are shown here.

I have also included a Panorama of the pond area with the plants that I have added over the last 6 weeks.

Today (Sunday) I am having a day off, as I am going to my daughter's house for a Father's Day barbecue, but I will be back by the pond on Monday trying for the shots that have eluded me so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.