Beach day!

Well, afternoon anyway. The usual archery for the boys and work for Mollie in the morning. It was ridiculously hot again, and after washing the kitchen floor, and making a card I ironed a little bit in my lounge. It was too hot at the back, but I still had to have the front door open as well as the French doors and kitchen door.

After lunch we loaded up a few beach things and drove in to Cromer. With the high tide at 1.30pm we headed east of the pier, where the beach is wider. Settled, we then enjoyed a cooler afternoon, just relaxing and watching people. Henry and i had a nice swim as the sea went out. We stayed between the safety flags, but not that many people were in the sea. Jon paddled but no more than that. Mollie joined us after work and it was as nice as any holiday (weather wise, better than our holidays are usually!) just a shame Daniel wasn't there.

We left the beach about 5.30, while it was still quite hot. At home, we cooked dinner and ate in the garden. We've just got back from an hour digging on the allotment which was hard work. It is going to take us a while in this heat, to get it in any fit state to grow anything. I collected more midge or mossie bites to add to last nights. It made us a tiny bit closer though. I think tomorrow night after work, I will take my mange tout down. They may as well die down there, rather than in the tiny pots in my garden. At least I will have given them a remote chance!

I need to shower the sea salt away, then think about where to sleep. Upstairs is stifling. Downstairs is small. The garden is currently appealing to me - all I need is a mosquito net to sleep in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.