First planting!!!

After a warm day spent in the office, which was actually a good temperature for a change, I was itching to get down the allotment. So after dinner, we took the car with a bit of fencing, pig irons and my rescued mange tout to the allotment.

We still needed to dig over our small patch again, and everytime I dig i find more of those long black dock roots, and more rock like lumps of clay; soil hardened by the out of the ordinary hot spell. I have just been throwing them all onto a pile - it's a pretty big pile now! While Jon started to fix up our 10 metre stretch of chicken wire, I found some sticks for my plants to grow around. Jon was quite disparaging about them, and once I started planting he went and found some hazel, cutting it to size. I replaced some of those shown in my photo, as I did agree they were a little chunky!

Glad to have something planted. But Jon did see a slug heading towards the fence. How do they know???!!

We stood for a while in the absolute silence watching a barn owl fly over on it's evening hunt for supper.

We got in at just after 9. Mollie is out in Norwich and Henry was already fast asleep in bed. I popped next door as mum and dad go back home tomorrow. Looking forward to a day off, meeting a friend tomorrow. I chose Swaffham as it is mid way between here and Cambridge. Just hoping the sun stays out for one more day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.