Lovely us!

Woke at my normal time, and with such a lovely morning, was able to enjoy a relaxed breakfast. Jon went off to Cambridge at 7.30 & I woke Mollie at 9, a bit before I left.

My drive to Swaffham was much easier than Karen's coming the other way. I had only one tractor plus an over heating old vw camper to slow me down. Both overtaken quite easily as the roads were quite clear. At Swaffham I parked and had a wander up the high street to see if i could find anywhere for us to have our coffee. Then Karen drove past me waving! The A14 hadn't got the better of her after all!

We went back to the second hand book shop that advertised 'Tea in the garden' and we went through to the back where the lady had a hotch potch of tables and chairs in a delightful garden. Tea, coffee and lots of catching up chatter for just £3. There was even an outside toilet. Perfectly functioning!

When the sun started to get warmer, we took a walk up the high street, but couldn't find anywhere we wanted to eat. A sandwich and somewhere to sit was all we really wanted. Anyway, we ended up in Waitrose where we enjoyed the rest of our day, with no parking restrictions and plenty of chairs. We had lunch and later tea and cake. And of course loads more talking.

We headed back to our respective homes at 4.30. I felt really tired when I got home. I guess I must have done the most talking...

After dinner cooked by Mollie, we went for a long cycle round the village, stopping at the allotment to see if the slugs had done their damage. They hadn't but we did meet our other allotment neighbours. They were very friendly, and offered help with watering my mange tout! So now we know 4 people!

Home to collect the dog and put the bikes away. A quick walk for him, then home to wash up. I was gong to start formatting my book tonight, but seem to have run out of time. I need to start that tomorrow now.

Glad of a cooler evening. Hope it stays....could still do with rain for my hard ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.