blipintheology

By antmark

Whiskey Lullaby

"I could never get drunk enough to get her off my Mind"

Now you have read the catch line lets rewind........

Temptation: I could easily ignore this photo, select a image that is tonaly better, compositionaly more pleasing to helight my photography skills. Have some amazing photos of differing birds in flight. These pictures would also paint me as a more godly person. Sure I can link them in theologically to my thoughts as I was taking them and could bring glory to God; But this image is more a true indecation of my day and where I am at. Raises theological questions as well - so its what I am running with.

Theologically drinking to the stage of getting drunk is a Sin; I could easily say well I was in control of my actions today there for I was not drunk. For instance nowing I could not legaly drive hanging out with a friend for awhile till I could drive. Nor did I spew, in other words I was incontrol of my actions there for I could say I was not drunk..... (In my heart I would now though this is simply bending the truth. Making it fit the picture I want to paint.) When often lesson our sinful nature rather then facing it - yet the new testiment says we are to have the oppisote approach. Through teachings such as the sermon on the mount. Where we think the bounderies are between sin or no sin are way off the make so often I suspect.

You see I was wanting to forget a women, so I could fully sing the words to the music at church. To be back in that place where I have full trust in God. Thats about as much detail as I will put up here but any way onto the theological point. Really it sounds stupid missing being close to God so there for go do something that creates more of a distance between us both......

Where does this leave me? - For the Drunkard shall not inherate the kingdom of God; At this point I could aproach it from a variety of dirrent perspectives 1: Repent - 2: Sell short the message of Grace and cheapen Grace, 3: Ignore the question or 4: Say there for I am lost and hence why follow Christ. Yet I wonder if all these approaches miss the full gospel message?

What do I mean? I am a sinner who will strugle with sin till the day I die, needing God to help transform me. Yet I have complete faith that by his power I will and have allready been transformed via the cross of Grace. He died once for all sins past present and future sins. There for I am a new creation. - In being called a new creation I must fight against my old nature - repentence is an ongoing process but also a process that is in Christ finished. God is the devine author of our Santification and Justification. It is this action that defines who I am in Christ not the actions I choose while God goes about finishing the work he has started. At the same time this is not a excuse to sin - rather far from it. As God transforms our hearts sins will be less and less appealing. My sins will not define who I am, rather the knowledge of who I will be in Christ defines me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.