CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A dragonfly at Frampton Court lake

It was too hot to continue gardening again after 11am so I headed towards Gloucester to get some fresh tofu, delivered on Tuesdays to the Asian food suppliers. However I took several diversions which let me film a kestrel catching a small animal in a newly cut hay field, and then a buzzard loping away from its perch on top of one of the bale of hay.

Then I headed to Frampton Court lake to enjoy being beside cool looking water. I even thought of swimming but was a little wary of trespassing there. Masses of swans had arrived there probably flying up the couple of miles from Slimbridge Wildlife and Wetland centre. I can imagine that this lake would be an ideal 'awayday' for them. Geese were in abundance as usual and there were large areas covered in feathers which suggested that a fox had been marauding successfully. 

I watched a couple of Arctic Terns swooping and diving to feed on fish, and was startled when standing under a tree by the water's edge when a Great White Egret flew low overhead. I photographed them all but in the end this picture of a dragonfly of unknown type (EDIT: I now think it is a Four-spotted Chaser, or libelluda, one having been identified by CowgirlCarol, in her blip today) is the best shot and even fits the category for today's Tiny Tuesday Challenge of 'Fauna'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.