Devils Dyke

I was down at the beach just after 9.30am, it was already hot and the sea was nice and calm, so in I went!  There was one other woman swimming when I went in, and it felt a little fresh at first, but it was fine as soon as I started swimming.  It was so nice to see the cliffs from a different perspective, and I'd taken the waterproof camera, but it didn't have a battery in it, so had to make do with a couple of shots with my phone when I was in the shallows (see my extras).

As I always swim lengths, I decided to swim width ways between the groynes which was also a good idea as I'm not used to sea swimming, and they gave me a marker to make sure I wasn't drifting further out to sea.  The groynes are 1.20 metres apart, and I managed 10 'lengths' although I turned a little bit before reaching the groynes, so in total I probably swam just over one kilometre.  I can manage one mile in the pool, but it's much harder to swim in the sea, so I'm really pleased.  I really enjoyed it, it was a great way to start the day.

I went home and got ready for work, and by the time I walked to the bus, it must have been around 30 degrees as it was much hotter than yesterday.  It was a nightmare on the bus as there wasn't any air and I was starting to get very sweaty!  It actually felt refreshing when I got off the bus into the souring heat! 

Alan picked me up at 8pm and it was still 27 degrees!  I said I'd like to go to Devils Dyke to watch the sunset, so he brought the picnic chairs and we sat there for about 45 mins.  Unfortunately it was rather cloudy and quite hazy so there wasn't much of a sunset, but it was still a lovely view as you can see.

Tomorrow is supposed to be hotter still  -  of all the weeks to be working 5 days!  

Hope those of you in the Northern Hemisphere are managing to keep cool!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.