The Last Morning

I set my alarm for 5.45am, crazy I know, but I really wanted to capture the sunrise and I wasn’t disappointed. There was a German lady also taking photos, but other than us there was no-one around.  I also saw a Cormorant in the sea.

When I got back to our room, Alan was still sound asleep and I didn’t want to wake him, so I went outside to the pool and had a swim.  It was wonderfully peaceful and felt so nice to be swimming in the early morning sun, and I swam 1km in total.

Alan was awake when I went back in, and we got ready and went for breakfast.  Our waitress Nektaria is so lovely and bright every morning and when we told her we were leaving today, she wanted her photo taken with both of us - I’ve added the photo with Alan to my extras.

At breakfast I took some apples and we went to the donkey to give it a treat.  He loved them, yet when I took a photo of him with Alan he stuck his tongue out, and did it each time I went to take a photo, it was so funny!

We nipped to the shops to pick up a few last minute bits to take home and then we went to chill out by our pool.  We had a couple of hours before there was another thunder storm and heavy rain, at which point I went to do the packing.  It was quite spectacular with lots of lightening!  

Luckily, by the time I’d finished packing it had cleared up and was hot and sunny again and we had 4.5 hours before we needed to check out, so we finished the afternoon off by the pool.

Our flight isn’t until 9.15pm, so Alan paid for a late checkout which was great as it’s meant we’ve had our room for the full day so we were able to shower and get changed just before we had to leave. Our coach is due to pick us up at 6.15pm and we’re now sat in the hotel lobby so I thought I’d quickly post my Blip.  Unfortunately, we’ve already been notified that our flight is an hour late, so fingers crossed there aren’t any more delays.  And fingers crossed that our damaged case makes the journey home!  We’ve bought some straps to hold it together, and then we’ll go to see the baggage handlers when we get to Gatwick with regards to a new case.

Despite the last few days of intermittent rain, we’ve had a wonderfully relaxed holiday and it’s somewhere we’d definitely return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.