An American in Paris

A trip to London this evening - via a blissfully empty air conditioned train - to see the new musical performing at the Dominion Theatre. An American in Paris takes its name from the 1951 Oscar-winning Gene Kelly film and features the classic top-tapping music of George and Ira Gershwin.

I absolutely adore the 40s era, the fashion, the music, the post-war romance and so, for me, it was an immersion into a delightful era with the music delivered by my talented friend John Rigby who was conducting tonight.

And WOW what a fantastic show! The dancing, the sets, the comedy, the wonderful music but most of all the talented cast, orchestra and of course the main man up front waving his baton about and jigging along having a ball!

I am highly recommending this fantastic new musical to all my friends and blip followers, you must go! In fact I plan to go again, with 'my' American.

Thank you for a fantastic night of entertainment John you are the BEST and I look forward to seeing you baton waving again at the Leeds Castle Classical Concert on Saturday 8th July.

Photo is the programme cover and a new fridge magnet. I bought arty note cards too! Such a sucker for merchandise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.