Summer Solstice

Up at 3 am and picked Colourful Mai up at 3.45 to get to The Hurlers Stone Circle on Bodmin Moor. English heritage has this to say about them  -  ' the close grouping of three Late Neolithic or Early Bronze Age stone circles is extremely rare in England, but a grouping of three such regular circles is unique." What better place to see the sun rise?! We actually made our way past these to Rillaton Barrow, and as the sun came up the group of people sang and danced in a circle. I of course was further in front of them to get the tree in my photo! It was absolutely magical to watch the sun rise and hear the voices behind me. Then 22 of us went to the local pub for breakfast! 
As it was still early we decided to visit Sue at the Natural Burial site - she would have loved the sunrise and would have danced and sung! We then stopped to see another prehistoric site but I'm saving photos of that and a description for when I next visit with a blipper from New Zealand in the summer! We then did St Cleer for a Well and we gathered wild flowers to lay there. Here you go Freespiral - photos of said Well! The building is from the 15th Century, restored in 1864  and on looking it up later I found out there used to be a total immersion (or 'bowssening') pool here which was used for the attempted cure of the insane. handy to know! Next stop the farm Shop and cafe  for a drink where Mai fed the pigs!  On the way home we had to stop for petrol and spotting a Charity Clothes container I'd never noticed before, we sorted the clothes left  from the Refugee Day. Some for me, some for Flora on the allotment as she needs a makeover, and some for Mai before the rest got put in! Next stop the allotment to check the hens had water and give them some treats. Damn battery flashing red so that went on the list of things to do!
Having had a sleep for a few hours I met up with Mai in the village so she could have the ice-cream she had so wanted on our beach activism trip! We then went up the plot via my house to get  the battery as my hip has been playing up, seems fine when I am walking but when I sit and then start moving it feels like something is going to come unattached and is very painful ,  so  I needed help lugging the heavy brute of a battery! Too much digging and sitting in front of a computer doing photos I reckon! I then suggested a drink so we grabbed the necessary beverages from our respective houses  and went to Halton Quay! Finally home to rest and would you believe it my Queen of the Night had flowered! What timing! 
Now that is what I call making the most of the longest day!!! All the photos are here but I warn you there are an awful lot of that tree!! I will edit and delete but at present need to lie down as headache time! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.