Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

It had to be done...

Yes, I had to break the Wild Baby streak today and go with one of the increasing number of hummers in the garden.  This female obliged by hovering long enough for me to get a couple of in-focus shots before roaring off in pursuit of an interloper.  If you look closely, you'll see a couple of rain drops on her forehand - the remnants of a shower that had just ended.

Meanwhile, P'Hummie's nemesis, Attila the Hummie was around all day, taunting poor P.  At one point, I think they both wore themselves out because they were perched less than a foot from one another...until the next fight broke out.  For their diminutive size, they are aggressive little birds.

In caterpillar news, the Black Swallowtail Butterfly cat started doing his walk-about today, in preparation for pupating into his chrysalis form.  He was exploring all the potential places in the enclosure and stopped for a few minutes to show me his horns (which really smell incredibly bad, by the way).   I don't know that I'll get lucky enough to see him change, but I can hope.  

Hubs has come down with a monster cold (the dreaded man-cold, I fear) so we cancelled plans to bring MIL over for dinner today.  Instead, I went over and visited with her.  When I got there, they were having a sing-along in the community room which was great fun to watch.  Amazing how therapeutic music can be.  I took a short video of MIL belting out a song so I could show it to Hubs - it was good for a big smile.  

Hope everyone is having a good Sunday.  

xo
Debbi

And then... a thump heard on the deck around 8:30, still light out...I scan the deck...notice the lack of a suet feeder...then see a large black, gloating bear at the edge of the woods....where he'd amassed a collection of three feeders. And I swear, the bastard was laughing at me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.