Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

WBW - Gray Catbird

I was hoping for one of the tufted titmice today, but I'm quite happy to be able to blip a fledgling Gray Catbird, the first one I've seen this year.  This little one was out at the edge of the shrubby area where the nest is located, preening and enjoying some early morning sun.  At the first sign of movement from me, it shot back into the bushes, staying well hidden.  We always have several pairs of catbirds nesting around our property in the summer and I have to say they are one of my favorite summer birds.  They are in the Mimidae (mimic thrush) family and are impressive vocalists, one being their namesake "meow" call.  

For comparison, see two adults having a disagreement, HERE.

Today's other fave baby is definitely this adorable red-bellied woodpecker, waiting to be fed

I counted six hummers in the yard this morning, including some that looked too fresh to be anything but juveniles.  It is lovely to be outside and hear the whirring of tiny wings and the angry chatter of tiny birds whizzing by my head.  It now truly feels like summer. 

Thanks for the love on yesterday's cardinals.  Stay tuned for titmice...and hummers...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.