Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A little pot

I was going to mist my red flower cactus on the back porch when this little pot jumped into view!  What the heck!    I know it was not there yesterday!

So to Google I go as I had my suspicions what it might be.  I was wrong but close.   We have dirt dauber wasps here that build nest out of mud along the side of the house in the cool dark places.  They are not aggressive so we mostly leave them alone.  I thought this might be a dirt dauber but it is a potter wasp or mason wasp nest.   The wasp builds this out of dirt/mud.  Then it lays one egg thing.  It will drop bits of food in the hole for when the larva hatches out.   It may take months for this to happen.  

 It won't happen here as I am bringing this little pot in to add to my found treasures..after I clean it out with a toothpick to make sure no baby is in there.   Interesting find!

 Then there was a hornworm like this(  What is a hornworm) on my tomato plant..and wow did he do some damage since yesterday!  But I had a funeral for him at the edge of the woods and he is buried 6 inches deep!  Along with the wasp larva.

I hope that is all that I will find but the day is not over yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.