Suilven - from the other side

Finally, I blip Suilven! We walked up the other side of Suilven today, direct from Lochinver, or more specifically from the road up to Glen Canisp lodge. We got as far as Loch na Gainimh, beyond the turn off for the climb up to Suilven). We think it was a bit longer than Monday's walk up Loch Glendu. It was certainly more steps (I exceeded 30k today for the first time, and I've done my 100k for the week already). And like all the other ostensibly flat walks, it was very undulating, so plenty of floors too.

But I was very tired when we got back. I haven't yet got to the stage where 10 miles feels normal. Maybe I won't again, but certainly 10kms does, so that's progress. My feet are sore after wearing my boots 5 days in a row, so tomorrow - whatever the weather - I'm not putting them on again. In fact, I'm not putting them on again until a nasty blister on my right heel has completely healed. The path wasn't exactly busy, but we did see some other walkers (predominantly men walking on their own and heading up Suilven) and a couple of anglers.

After beating the rain to get back to Lochinver, we ate a late lunch at An Cala, both being so tired we could barely force the excellent food down. And then brought pies home, which we've just consumed. We had the best of the weather this morning. Since lunchtime, it has closed in and Suilven and Canisp are under their duvets (unlike last night - see extras). We will be soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.