The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Maestro Michael Palmer

The Bellingham Festival of Music begins on Saturday. Today I was lucky to be able to go to the kick off picnic even though I am not singing nor hosting any musicians this year. My good friend Isabel invited me to come as her "date" as her husband is out of town. I have been to many more of these gatherings but not in the last few years. Starting year 2, Arvin and I hosted musicians every summer during the festival through 2012. I think we hosted 19 years, if I have my count correct. So when they asked folks to stand who had hosted over 10 years I stood up even though I'm not hosting this year... TMI perhaps?

Anyhow, at the picnic Michael Palmer, the maestro for the 24 years the festival has been going, introduces the orchestra members. This year he had the principals introduce the players in each section. It was shorter than usual and fun due to the banter between groups of instruments. 

Earlier in the day I went out with Jane, the Fairhaven realtor I met who is looking for possible houses for me, to see a bunch of condos and single family homes. I liked only two of them. One is in the process of being built and is great with the exception of a very steep driveway. We will have to see how that goes. The other was a very nice small house with an open floor plan. I had planned to look at it again tomorrow. However I looked this evening and it already had a buyer. And this was the first day it was listed. Yeeps! 

Good thing I am nestled in my own house and don't have to hurry to find anything. I have a feeling I will be here for a long time. I do like the house very much. It is just large and a lot to care for. But very nice, with a lovely view as many have you have seen. If I could have just the upstairs of my house I would look no further. But there are three bedrooms, a family room and a bathroom downstairs, much more than I need.

Again thanks for all the comments, stars and hearts for my most recent blips. I really appreciate your coming by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.