JohnMcCannLearn

By StillLearning

Boxes

I have always had a difficult relationship with boxes. Particularly in work.

Especially with organisational charts where everyone needs to be placed in one. Gives folks a sense of security and comfort - there am I, there's where I fit.

Yet my experience tells me that, while each box needs to work, it is what happens between and amongst the boxes which makes an organisation special. It is often what makes work worthwhile for many people.

And our language is riddled with boxes. 'A tick box exercise' - so it is straightforward, routine, mundane; 'ticks all the boxes' - so it is perfect; 'think out of the box' though sometimes thinking in the box would be good; we need to put him 'back in his box' ....

I'll share a secret. when I load up some software on my computer, I always tick the box which says I've 'read and agree with terms and conditions'. But I never have. Seems like a small victory. Don't tell anyone or I might be banned from downloading any more.

Today was a day for an indoor photo. So I turned round and these are my boxes, next to my workspace. They are very practical.

I need to come to terms with boxes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.