Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Mary Lou Retton

She can do it all: twist, turn, hang, contort.  An amazing Olympic champion.
Did you think I was talking about America's sweetheart who adorned the cover of Wheaties?  No, I was referring to this Verdin.  Unlike nuthatches, who are often seen in this position (head down), the natural position for Verdin is like every other bird - chin up.

Verdin are very small.  Here are some size comparisons:
Ruby-throated hummingbird:  7–9 cm
Verdin: 9–11 cm
Chipping Sparrow: 12–15 cm
House Finch: 13–14 cm
American Robin: 20–28 cm
Northern Cardinal 21–23 cm

They are native to Mexico and the areas along the SW US-Mexican border.  Loud for their size, they can be heard from a fair distance.  The Verdin is the only North American member of the penduline-tit family.

I'm going to get my act together (quickly) and treat myself to my favorite lunch place, The Mountain View Cafe.  They are closing all next week for a holiday break so this is my last chance to get my favorite salad Alaskan Cod sandwich for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.