Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Taking A Break

An early morning jaunt into the mountains ended up at the Santa Rita Lodge in Madera Canyon.  Hummingbirds need a large amount of energy shortly after sunrise because they use a lot of their reserves overnight when they go into a resting state called torpor.  So there was a whole lot of fluttering and flitting while I was there.  This is a male Broad-billed hummingbird.  Their colors, especially when caught in the sun, are wonderfully brilliant.

I couldn't stay long because I have to pick up the groceries I ordered online yesterday.  My SIL, who lives in New Mexico but owns a home in Phoenix, is coming down to take mom (and me) out to lunch.  Don't know if I'll be back from the store in time but will try. Since I have Chronic Kidney Disease, Medicare pays for me to see a dietitian.  I see her Monday and she's not going to be very happy with me.  Think I can lose 20 lbs in two days?   :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.