horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

These lands, This wall!

An evening at Tantallon Castle for another Lammermuir Festival event, the story of the castle being told through Scots and Gaelic and discordant jarring modern music. Oh, and projections on the wall. It was a little hit or miss, with just about more hit.

Annoying, however, was some jobsworthiness. Around the ground outside the castle is a little ridge, on which we (amongst others) having arrived reasonably early positioned ourselves. A good view, slightly above the crowds, reward or getting there in good time. After ten minutes or so we were all asked to move down the slope, the ridge was 'only for professional photographers.... And people could slip'. Clearly the four or so pro photogs have super-grippy shoes or something.

Later in the show I look back and the ridge is populated by loads of people, so I think I might as well wander up and use my wee folding stool as a tripod for a better shot. 'Sorry sir, we're keeping this ridge clear. There are cables' I wave in the direction of the two dozen or so people along the ridge, 'They're staff, it's just staff allowed up here.' I start to argue back but lose the will. You'll just have to trust me that not one of the other people on the ridge were staff. They most clearly weren't. 100%. Grrr!

3 days of work till holiday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.