View From the Car Park

I haven't been to Watford for years. Before I had children and before we reached the dizzying heights of the Premier League I used to go to Vicarage Road regularly to watch Watford play.
As a six, seven and eight year old with my Grandpa - standing on newspapers on the terrace because my feet got so cold.
As a teenager with my brother. Saying hello to Grandpa who was buried in the Vicarage Road cemetery right opposite the ground in 1984.
Always at home on Boxing Day. One snowy Boxing Day we arrived - surprised at how light the traffic was - to find a notice pinned to the turnstile telling us that the match was cancelled due to a frozen pitch. Before Radio 5, before social media, before mobiles. Imagine!!!!
Another Boxing Day sat with my mum, a blanket on our knees, eating Thorntons and drinking mulled wine from a flask. Because we couldn't be any more middle class!!!!
I cried at the final whistle when we got relegated from the 1st Division to the 2nd Division in 1988. 
I was at Wembley for the Play Off Final in 1999 when we beat Bolton 2-0 and got promoted into the Premiership. Whoop whoop!
When Mr D was in hospital after his stroke he got a card from the club signed by the team and Graham Taylor.
I cried when they showed Elton John crying at the end of the 1984 FA cup final as they played I Guess That's Why They Call it the Blues
I applauded Jurgen Klinsman's third goal when he scored a hat-trick against us in the League Cup during his first season at Tottenham in 1994. They beat us 6-3!
In 2007 I took Mr K to Vicarage Road. He'd never been to a football match and I wanted him to see how exciting it was; to experience that nothing-like-it-feeling when the goal goes in. They beat us 3-0. 
He came to one more match. It was a dull 0-0. So he's never seen a goal! And he's never been back!!!
Hopefully we'll be relegated soon and I'll be able to take the Little Misses along so they can be the fifth generation of Watford fans in the family. They've already been told they're Watford fans but it doesn't mean too much to them yet!!
Anyway, the reason for this trip down memory lane is that I met Mrs S this morning in Watford. It's been years since I was there and so many memories came flooding back!
From the top of the multi-storey where I parked I could just see the hospital where Mr D was born. It overlooks the ground!
It was lovely catching up with Mrs S. A bit of shopping and a tasty lunch in Bill's. 
Then it was time to dash home for fifteen minutes - just time to let Archie out and make a cup of tea - before going to get the Little Misses. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.